“Red Berries” – Poem (Damaged Roots, 2016)

I wrote this as part of a creative processing of my childhood memories of Poland. Nature and seasons in Poland are something that bind me to my roots. The sensations of autumn are strongly etched in my brain and always take me back to a time when it was still easy to call Poland my home. I’ve always had a deep connection to the land and the rowan berries are a big part of that connection – seeing them decorating the trees, and making necklaces out of them.

Redberries

Over the past couple of years I’ve been working on a solo performance project about my journey to understanding home and belonging as a TCK. It’s taken SO long but I just couldn’t figure out how to tell the story on stage. The project has gone through countless possible incarnations in my mind and on paper but it is now – finally – nearly there. I’m so excited. I’m tired of writing – I can’t wait to start rehearsing! I’ve written so much material that I won’t be using, so I’ve decided to publish some of it here. Monologues, poems, vignettes , fragments of a fragmented identity. I would love to know your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

